Tissage

A little history ...

History of the museum

carte postale

At the start of the twentieth century , Bussières was one of the two main poles of attraction in the Monts du Lyonnais. Textile is its driving force. Indeed, the commercial industrial and artisanal activity was important, which allowed the municipality to develop considerably.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Since the Middle Ages, peasant weavers spin hemp, clothes, linen, uniforms for the Napoleonic armies ... In the nineteenth century, farmers weavers are recruited by the Lyon silk. In each house, in each village, there is a workshop.

Created in 1977 by Pierre Berchoux with the support of the municipality, the museum was housed in the former Braud factory in 1998. The building dates from the 1920s.

At the end of the 1950s, fifteen weavers worked here, assisted by weavers at home. Each weaver takes care of three or four looms.
Workers wove high-end fabrics there, including one for Grace Kelly's wedding dress!

 

The Braud factory was sold in 1963 to Henri Gousset. Seven years later, it closed its doors for good, ending nearly 50 years of weaving.
Today, the museum team is setting up the weaving looms of yesterday and today, impressive in terms of technicality, for you ...

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

The history of silk

Sumptuous, heavenly, royal, silk embodies beauty.

This fabric has never been equaled before. Indeed, we do not find its qualities in any other fabric. Would the silkworm also called bombyx mori (or mulberry bombyx) be stronger than humans to create such a strong thread (resistance comparable to a steel wire of the same section)?
Silk offers very appreciable thermal comfort; it keeps warm in winter and cool in summer, moreover it is hypoallergenic.
It is a really fabulous fabric but so rare.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

But how did we discover this thread with incomparable virtues?

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

According to the very old legend, silk was discovered in China around 4000 years ago (in 2700 BC):

“Princess Xi Ling Shi was playing with a bombyx cocoon when suddenly he fell into her cup of tea. She took it in her hand and gently pulled on a small thread that protruded and when she arrived at the end, the cocoon had disappeared and had given way to a long thread. The princess then decided to plant many white mulberry trees in her garden to raise silkworms. The silkworms (or bombyx) and mulberry trees were divinely well cared for by the princess (silkworms feed only on white mulberry leaves). "

According to legend, she was the first to unwind a silk thread.

Then, we discovered that we could make fabrics with incomparable qualities with this yarn. It then became a product reserved for the making of imperial clothing. Silk remained for several millennia a secret well kept by the Chinese: an imperial decree punished with death anyone who tried to divulge this secret. Building on its success, it was exported in turn to Japan, India and then to other countries, notably thanks to the illustrious Silk Roads. And this, by methods at least dubious (spies, looters, illegal businesses ...).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

As far as Europe is concerned, we know that the Romans were very fond of this fabric, but it is assumed that it was not until the 10th century that the first attempts at sericulture were made in southern Italy. For a long time the European silk market was exclusively Italian.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In the 19th century, Lyon became a major place for silk, to the point of becoming a world hub. You will also find, in Vieux Lyon, traces of the weavers of the time trained by the Italians, who settled in the Saint-Georges district and around the Saint-Jean cathedral. Shortly after, the silk arrived on the looms of Bussières.

bombyx mori

Watch this video to learn more about this fabric

Weaving and silk in Lyon

To walk on the historic site of Lyon is to stroll through time, from its foundation in 43 BC to the present day. The city has kept permanent and continuous traces of the periods that have marked its history.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

During the Renaissance, the city had four annual fairs of two weeks each which attracted merchants from all over Europe. International, Lyon becomes a financial center and hosts branches of Italian, Florentine, Milanese and Lucquois bankers.

In 1536 François Ier granted Lyon the privilege of weaving silk, silver and gold thread. The weavers then set up their workshops in the Saint-Georges district of present-day Old Lyon.
La Fabrique was born, bringing together all stages of the manufacture to the sale of silks. It marks the start of a flourishing industry, until the wars of religion. Lyon is a stage of the Silk Road.

The techniques progress over the years, in particular with the draw loom in the 17th century which allows to make patterns.
Louis XIV launched the fashion for Lyon silks in Versailles and soon throughout Europe.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Lyon's greatest century was undoubtedly the 16th century: 60,000 inhabitants, a European trading platform, relations with the Mediterranean countries, the North of France, the Rhineland and Switzerland. At the same time, the city has a large number of silk weaving factories.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Under the First Empire (1804-1814) and the Restoration (1814-1830), the silk trade made Lyon a prosperous city. It is thanks to the will of Napoleon Bonaparte who imposes the use of Lyon silks in all the courts of Europe and encourages the use of the loom of Joseph-Marie Jacquard (1752-1834).

Canuts

From 1800 to 1848, the number of weaving looms increased from 6,000 to 60,000. The silk workers (or "Canuts") settled on the hill of Croix-Rousse, which then became "the working hill. ”, As opposed to“ the hill that prays ”(Fourvière).

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

High-ceiling, well-lit housing allows for better work on tall looms. We install the private area in the back part of the apartment.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Between 1820 and 1850, the region of Lyon-Givors-St Etienne was the first French industrial region. In 1824, the first French railway was installed there, linking Andrézieux to Saint-Etienne, then St Etienne to Lyon in 1832. From 1850, the railways, especially the Lyon-Marseille line, monopolized the traffic of goods.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

However, after 1830, the silk industry went through a serious crisis. Despite the many social innovations (first "Conseil des Prud'hommes" in 1806, first mutual aid fund, "true and social commerce" in 1835 which is the first French mutualist grocery store), work is often lacking, wages do not allow to live. The Canuts revolted for the first time in November 1831 against the manufacturers, then a second time in 1834. It is from these popular uprisings, harshly repressed, that the motto “Live while working or die while fighting” was born.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

To find out more, visit the page of the Lyon association, Soierie Vivante

Land of weavers

logo terre de tisseurs, terre d'excellence

"Terre de Tisseurs, Terre d'Excellence" is a program for the enhancement and development of tourism in the Montagnes du Matin, focusing on heritage and textile know-how. Initiated in 2012 by the former Communes of Communes of Balbigny and Collines du Matin, with the support of the Montagnes du Matin Tourist Office and the two museums in the area (Museum of Weaving and Silk in Bussières and Museum of La Cravate et du Textile de Panissières), the first discussions are carried out with referents from each municipality, “ambassadors” of their territory and “memories” of their village.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

These reflections lead to the installation of interpretation panels in 2014. In each municipality of the device, village entrance panels are installed, a town center panel retracing the history of the village, and significant interpretation panels. an important building, often linked to textiles.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

terredetisseurs.com

focus terre de tisseurs

Tie and Textile Museum

The museum is located in Panissières in a former canvas factory built in 1856. From the boss's former office to the garden, via the factory, discover the history of textiles: damask, bluter gauze, silk and tie.

7 rue Jacquard 42360 Panissières

04 77 26 23 46

museedelacravate.com

Musée de la cravate et du textile​
Musée de la cravate et du textile​

press to zoom
cravates
cravates

press to zoom
Musée de la cravate et du textile​
Musée de la cravate et du textile​

press to zoom
Musée de la cravate et du textile​
Musée de la cravate et du textile​

press to zoom
1/3

Hat Museum Workshop

The Atelier-Musée du Chapeau welcomes you to the La Chapellerie site. Come and discover the last great witness of the hat-making activity of Chazelles-sur-Lyon restored in the spirit of the factory and turned towards creation.

31 rue Martouret 42140 Chazelles-sur-Lyon

04 77 94 23 29

museeduchapeau.com

1/4

House of Grenadières

In the heart of the village of Cervières, come and meet a museum that is unique in France: the Maison des Grenadières, a workshop and museum of gold thread embroidery, testifies to a specific secular history of Haut-Forez.

Le Bourg 42440 Cervières

04 77 24 98 71

maisondesgrenadieres.com

corset en céramique de Malte
corset en céramique de Malte

press to zoom
couturière en action
couturière en action

press to zoom
Maison des grenadières
Maison des grenadières

press to zoom
corset en céramique de Malte
corset en céramique de Malte

press to zoom
1/5

Tissage

Un peu d'histoire ...

L'histoire du musée

carte postale

Au début du xxe siècle, Bussières était l’un des deux principaux pôles d’attraction des monts du Lyonnais. Le textile en est l’activité motrice. En effet, l’activité commerciale industrielle et artisanale était importante, ce qui permit à la commune de se développer considérablement.

Depuis le moyen âge, des paysans tisseurs filent le chanvre, habits, linge, uniformes pour les armées napoléoniennes… Au XIX e siècle, les tisseurs paysans sont recrutés par les soyeux lyonnais. Dans chaque maison, dans chaque village se cache un atelier.

Créé en 1977 par Pierre Berchoux avec le soutien de la commune, le musée s’est installé dans l'ancienne usine Braud en 1998. Le bâtiment date des années 1920.

A la fin des années 50, ce sont quinze tisseurs qui travaillent ici, secondés par des tisseurs à domicile. Chaque tisseur s’occupe de trois ou quatre métiers à tisser.
Les ouvriers y tissaient des tissus haut de gamme, dont un pour la robe de mariée de Grace Kelly !

 

L’usine Braud fut revendue en 1963 à Henri Gousset. Sept ans plus tard, elle ferma définitivement ses portes, mettant fin à près de 50 ans de tissage.
Aujourd’hui, l’équipe du musée met en route pour vous les métiers à tisser d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, impressionnants de technicité…

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

L'histoire de la soie

Somptueuse, céleste, royale, la soie incarne la beauté.

Ce tissu n'a encore jamais été égalé. En effet, on ne retrouve ses qualités dans aucun autre tissu. Le ver à soie appelé aussi bombyx mori (ou bombyx du mûrier) serait-il plus fort que l'homme pour créer un fil si résistant (résistance comparable à un fil d'acier de même section) ?
La soie offre un confort thermique très appréciable ;  elle tient chaud en hiver et au frais en été, de plus elle est hypoallergénique. 
C'est un tissu vraiment fabuleux mais tellement rare.

Mais comment a-t-on découvert ce fil aux vertus incomparables ?

Selon la très ancienne légende, la soie a été découverte en Chine, il y a environ 4000 ans (en 2700 av. JC) :

« La princesse Xi  Ling Shi était en train de jouer avec un cocon de bombyx quand tout à coup il tomba dans sa tasse de thé. Elle le reprit dans sa main et tira délicatement sur un petit fil qui dépassait et quand elle arriva au bout, le cocon avait disparu et avait laissé la place à un long fil. La princesse décida alors de planter de nombreux mûriers blancs dans son jardin pour élever des vers à soie. Les vers à soie (ou bombyx) et les mûriers  furent divinement bien soignés par la princesse (les vers à soie se nourrissent uniquement de feuilles de mûriers blancs).»

D'après la légende, elle fut la première à dévider un fil de soie.

Ensuite, on découvrit que l'on pouvait faire avec ce fil des tissus aux qualités incomparables. Il devint alors un produit réservé à la confection de vêtements impériaux. La soie resta pendant plusieurs millénaires un secret bien gardé par les chinois : un décret impérial punissait de mort quiconque tenterait de divulguer ce secret. Forte de son succès, tour à tour, elle s’exporte au Japon, en Inde puis au sein d’autres contrées, notamment grâce aux illustres routes de la soie. Et ce, par des méthodes pour le moins douteuses (espions, pillards, commerces illégaux…).

En ce qui concerne l'Europe, on sait que les romains raffolaient de ce tissu, mais on suppose que ce n'est qu'au Xème siècle que les premières tentatives de sériciculture furent effectuées en Italie du Sud. Pendant longtemps le marché européen de la soie fut exclusivement Italien.

Au XIXème siècle, Lyon devient un haut lieu de la soierie, jusqu'à en devenir une plaque tournante mondial. Vous trouverez par ailleurs, dans le Vieux Lyon, des traces des tisseurs de l'époque formés par les italiens, qui s'étaient installés dans le quartier Saint-Georges et autour de la cathédrale Saint-Jean. Peu de temps après, la soie arrive sur les métiers à tisser de Bussières.

bombyx mori

Visionnez cette vidéo pour en apprendre plus sur ce tissu

Le tissage et la soie à Lyon

Se promener à Lyon, c'est flâner à travers le temps, depuis sa fondation en 43 avant J.-C. jusqu'à nos jours. La ville a gardé des traces permanentes et continues des périodes qui ont marqué son histoire.

A la Renaissance, la cité possède quatre foires annuelles de deux semaines chacune qui attiraient des marchands de toute l’Europe. Internationale, Lyon devient un centre financier et héberge des succursales de banquiers italiens, florentins, milanais et lucquois. 

En 1536 François Ier octroya à Lyon le privilège de tisser le fil de soie, d’argent et d’or. Les tisseurs installèrent alors leurs ateliers dans le quartier Saint-Georges du Vieux-Lyon actuel.
La Fabrique est née, rassemblant toutes les étapes de la fabrication jusqu’à la vente des soieries. Elle marque le départ d’une industrie florissante, jusqu’aux guerres de religion. Lyon est une étape de la Route de la Soie.

Les techniques progressent au fil des ans, notamment avec le métier à la tire au 17e qui permet de réaliser des motifs.
Louis XIV lance la mode des soieries lyonnaises à Versailles et bientôt dans l’Europe entière.

Le plus grand siècle de Lyon fut sans doute le XVIe siècle : 60 000 habitants, plate-forme de commerce européen, relations avec les pays méditerranéens, le Nord de la France, la Rhénanie et la Suisse. En même temps, la ville compte un grand nombre de manufactures de tissage de soie.

Sous le premier Empire (1804-1814) et la Restauration (1814- 1830), le commerce de la soie fait de Lyon, une ville prospère. C’est grâce à la volonté de Napoléon Bonaparte qui impose l’utilisation des soieries lyonnaises dans toutes les cours d’Europe et encourage l’utilisation du métier à tisser de Joseph-Marie Jacquard (1752-1834).

Canuts

De 1800 à 1848, le nombre des métiers à tisser passe de 6 000 à 60 000. Les ouvriers en soie (ou « Canuts ») s'installent sur la colline de la Croix-Rousse, qui devient dès lors « la colline qui travaille », par opposition à « la colline qui prie » (Fourvière).

Les logements à plafond élevé et bien éclairés permettent de mieux travailler sur les hauts métiers à tisser. On installe la zone privée dans la partie arrière de l'appartement.

Entre 1820 et 1850, la région de Lyon-Givors-St Etienne est la première région industrielle française. On y installe, en 1824, le premier chemin de fer français reliant Andrézieux à Saint-Etienne, puis St Etienne à Lyon en 1832. Dès 1850, les voies ferrées, surtout la ligne Lyon-Marseille, accaparent le trafic des marchandises.

Toutefois, après 1830, l'industrie soyeuse traverse une crise grave. Malgré les nombreuses innovations sociales (premier « Conseil des Prud'hommes » en 1806, première caisse de secours mutuel, « commerce véridique et social » en 1835 qui est la première épicerie mutualiste française), le travail manque souvent, les salaires ne permettent pas de vivre. Les Canuts se révoltent une première fois en novembre 1831 contre les fabricants, puis une seconde fois en 1834. C'est de ces soulèvements populaires, durement réprimés, qu'est née la devise « Vivre en travaillant ou mourir en combattant ».

Pour en savoir plus, rendez vous sur la page de l'association lyonnaise, Soierie Vivante

 

Terre de tisseurs

logo terre de tisseurs, terre d'excellence

"Terre de Tisseurs, Terre d'Excellence" est un programme de mise en valeur et de développement touristique des Montagnes du Matin, centré sur le patrimoine et le savoir-faire textile. Initiées dès 2012 par les anciennes Communautés de Communes de Balbigny et des Collines du Matin, avec l’appui de l’Office de Tourisme des Montagnes du Matin et des deux musées du territoire (Musée du Tissage et de la Soierie de Bussières et Musée de la Cravate et du Textile de Panissières), les premières réflexions sont menées avec des référents de chaque commune, « ambassadeurs » de leur territoire et« mémoires » de leur village.

Ces réflexions aboutissent à la mise en place de panneaux d’interprétation en 2014. Dans chaque commune du dispositif sont implantées des panneaux d’entrée de bourg, un panneau centre-bourg retraçant l’histoire du village, et des panneaux d’interprétation marquant un bâtiment important, souvent lié au textile.

 terredetisseurs.com

focus terre de tisseurs

Musée de la cravate et du textile​

Le musée est installé à Panissières dans une ancienne manufacture de toile construite en 1856. De l'ancien bureau du patron jusqu'au jardin, en passant par l'usine, découvrez l'histoire du textile  : damassé, gaze à bluter, soierie et cravate.

7 rue Jacquard 42360 Panissières

04 77 26 23 46

museedelacravate.com

Musée de la cravate et du textile​
Musée de la cravate et du textile​

press to zoom
cravates
cravates

press to zoom
Musée de la cravate et du textile​
Musée de la cravate et du textile​

press to zoom
Musée de la cravate et du textile​
Musée de la cravate et du textile​

press to zoom
1/3

Atelier Musée du Chapeau 

L'Atelier-Musée du Chapeau vous accueille sur le site de La Chapellerie. Venez découvrir le dernier grand témoin de l'activité chapelière de Chazelles-sur-Lyon restauré dans l'esprit de l'usine et tourné vers la création.

31 rue Martouret 42140 Chazelles-sur-Lyon

04 77 94 23 29

museeduchapeau.com

1/4

Maison des Grenadières 

Au cœur du village de Cervières, venez à la rencontre d'un musée unique en France : la Maison des Grenadières, atelier musée de la broderie au fil d'or, témoigne d'une histoire séculaire spécifique du Haut-Forez.

Le Bourg 42440 Cervières 

04 77 24 98 71

maisondesgrenadieres.com

corset en céramique de Malte
corset en céramique de Malte

press to zoom
couturière en action
couturière en action

press to zoom
Maison des grenadières
Maison des grenadières

press to zoom
corset en céramique de Malte
corset en céramique de Malte

press to zoom
1/5